A Short History of AidWatch Canada


AidWatchCanada was incorporated as a Canadian not-for-profit organization in 2010 by Brian Tomlinson and three members of its original Board of Directors.  Brian Tomlinson is a former senior policy analyst (aid and development cooperation) with the Canadian Council for International Cooperation, retired in 2011.

The organization’s overall objectives include

  • To carry out and promote research regarding public policies affecting the purposes and effectiveness of development cooperation, including but not exclusively Official Development Assistance (ODA); and
  • To promote public education through an electronic web site, which profiles public policy reasearch and educational materials relevant to development cooperation.

AidWatch Canada is based in Black Rock, Nova Scotia.  Since 2010 AidWatch Canada has developed and profiled research, produced a series of Briefing Papers, and participated in civil society initiatives to reform development cooperation in Canada and at the global level (through its membership in the CSO Partnership for Effective Development).  Through its Executive Director, AidWatch Canada is a member, and past CSO Co-Chair, of the global multi-stakeholder Task Team on CSO Development Effectiveness and Enabling Environment.

AidWatch Canada is an active member of the Canadian Council for International Cooperation and the Atlantic Council for International Cooperation.

AidWatch Canada’s activities are currently supported by the voluntary contributions of its Executive Director and its Board of Directors.  To date, the organization has received no financing from any private or official donor agency.

The Executive Director can be contacted via e-mail at brian.t.tomlinson@gmail.com or via mail: 4771 Black Rock Road, Waterville, Nova Scotia, Canada, B0P 1V0

Corporation Registration Number as a Canadian Not-for-Profit:  761511-6


Board of Directors for AidWatch Canada


The current Board of Directors for AidWatch Canada includes:

Brian Murphy (Ottawa, Ontario), Chairperson

Betty Plewes (Carp, Ontario), Treasurer

Molly Kane (Montreal, Quebec), Secretary

Jean Christie (Ottawa, Ontario)

Brian Tomlinson (Black Rock, Nova Scotia), Executive Director

The Executive Director can be contacted via e-mail at brian.t.tomlinson@gmail.com